Blueprint

Resources

Book Reviews

Creating the Not So Big House - by Sarah Susanka, 2000, Taunton Press, the sequal to her best-selling The Not So Big House. Sarah Susanka showcases 25 beautiful homes, demonstrating how her smaller-scale approach to home design can be applied to different housing styles.  www.susanka.com

The Cabin - by D. Mulfinger & S. Davis, 2001, Taunton Press. "Inspiration for the classic American Getaway" celebrating the appeal of this unique form of retreat, providing inspirational and practical ideas for realizing your own cabin dream.

Patterns of Home – the ten essentials of enduring design by Jacobson, Silverstein and Winslow, 2002, Taunton Press. A thoughtful book and guide based on the architects bible “A Pattern Language” providing a design process of discovery and pattern links forming a language to guide a process.


Book Recommendations

Artisan Crafted Timber Frame Homes by Jonathan Vincent, AIA and Tina Skinner  (more info on TImberpeg page)


Timberframe Interiors by Dick Pirozzolo

Adirondack Camps by Craig Gilborn


Great Lodges of the National Parks by Christine Barnes


Adirondack Style by Ann Stillman O'Leary


The New Bungalow by Bialecki

Cabin Fever by Rachael Carley

A Master Course in FENG-SHUI by Eva Wong

The New Cottage Home by Jom Tolpin


Magazines

Mountain Living   www.mountainliving.com

Timber Homes Illustrated   www.timberhomes.com

Timberframe Homes   www.timberframehomes.com

Pinnacle Living Mountain Homes Magazine  www.pinnaclemtnhomes.com

Log & Timber Style   www.logandtimberstyle.com


Building Systems   www.buildingsystems.com  


Websites

Timberpeg   www.timberpeg.com                                                               

Timber Framers Guild   www.tfguild.org

Structural Insulated Panels Assoc   www.sips.org

SIP Panel Manufacturer www.foard.panel.com

SIP Panel Manufacturer www.winterpanel.com

Precast Concrete Foundations  www.superiorwalls.com

WNC Green Building Council  www.wncgbc.org

NC Healthy Built Homes  www.healthybuilthomes.org

NC Solar Center  www.ncsc.ncsu.edu/

NC Sustainable Energy Association  www.ncsustainableenergy.org

NC Green Power Renewable Energy  www.ncgreenpower.org

US Greenbuilding Council  www.usgbc.org

Southern Energy Management www.southern-energy.com

Energy Star  www.energystar.gov/

Building Science  www.buildingscience.com

Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy  www.eere.energy.gov

US Department of Energy   www.energy.gov

Green Sustainable Design   www.oikos.com

Tax Credits Renewable Energy   www.dsireusa.org

M&T Mortgages for Timber Homes   www.systembuilt.com 



For more information about working with Kenneth J. Wertheim, Architect, get in touch or check out his comprehensive Architecture Portfolio.